Every year students will find a way to get their hands on a fake ID that they can use to buy alcohol or gain access to the local nightclub or bar.
Every year the police ramp themselves up in college towns across America to find these students and charge them with being a minor purchasing alcoholic beverages and will confiscate these IDs when they make the arrest.
Others will find themselves in bars when the police enter to check IDs.
Then the problems begin.
The wise student has in their possession false identification that belongs to someone else and has another picture and someone else's information on it.
They will explain to the police that they have an ID and show the correct identification to the police, and will explain that they have "found" or are in possession of someone else's identification because they intend on returning it.
As a former Boston Police Officer, I have heard every story and I can equally assure you that the local police have as well.
Now there are places where individuals, who are under 21, can get their picture on an out-of-state license. These "licenses" will include almost all of the individual's correct information but will instead show a birthdate that lists them as 21 years of age or older. These licenses, or false identification, will serve their purpose until the police look at them.
In these cases, you will likely face charges and will not have the benefit of a defense in a Boston courthouse that you were "holding it for someone else who lost it."
Massachusetts Fake ID Law
Under Massachusetts laws, the punishment for using a fake ID is a $300 fine which is included in your criminal record. The court will notify the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles, which will inform your home that your driver's license is being suspended for 180 days.
Most students mistakenly think they can pay and walk out of court without mom and dad knowing anything. Now that's a problem for most students and others under 21 (and their parents).
Here's our advice to students:
- If and when you are arrested or summonsed to court for a fake ID, be smart and have an attorney with you. The first trip to the courthouse is important. You want someone who can try to stop the process at the initial hearing with a fine, community service, and/or an alcohol program (mandated by courts). We will also head the problem off before they send notice to the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles. Be aware that some police departments have policies that mandate that the officer transmit the information to the Registry when they arrest you.
- If you have already been notified that your license is to be suspended, contact an attorney to appeal the ruling as you may be eligible to get a "Cinderella License" that will allow you to drive for twelve hours a day.
- Contact us at (617) 300-0212, so we can assist you in trying and preventing a criminal record and the subsequent loss of license. We can also help you at the Registry Hearing, where the Board will decide whether you meet the requirements for a twelve-hour license or not. You are not entitled to a twelve-hour license, which is where an experienced attorney can help make sure you get one granted to you. For more information, request a complimentary and confidential consultation.
Get The Help You Need - Call For a Free Consultation
Having the fake ID was your first mistake, and using it was your second. Not hiring an experienced attorney will be your third. Let us help you today!
Free Case Evaluation
Sweeney & Associates, LLC is proud to offer prospective clients a complimentary
initial case evaluation. We understand that every case is unique and will take this
time to get to know the details of your situation and begin discussing your legal
options for achieving the best possible outcome. As we understand that the reputation
of you and your family is at stake, this consultation is completely confidential.
Read Real Testimonials
I can't say enough good things about him.Anonymous
Your team stood by me and never quit.R.S.
Sweeney & Associates is simply the best.Mary C.