Now there are places where individuals, who are under 21, can get their
picture on an out-of-state license. These "licenses" will include
almost all of the individual's correct information but will instead show
a birthdate that lists them as 21 years of age or older. These licenses,
or false identification, will serve their purpose until the police look at them.
In these cases, you will likely
face charges and will not have the benefit of a defense in a Boston courthouse that
you were "holding it for someone else who lost it."
Massachusetts Fake ID Law
Under Massachusetts laws, the punishment for using a fake ID is a $300
fine which is included in your criminal record. The court will notify
the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles, which will inform your home
that your driver's license is being suspended for 180 days.
students mistakenly think they can pay and walk out of court without mom and dad
knowing anything. Now that's a problem for most students and others under
21 (and their parents).
Here's our advice to students:
If and when you are arrested or summonsed to court for a fake ID, be smart
and have an attorney with you.
The first trip to the courthouse is important. You want someone who can try to stop the process at the
initial hearing with a fine, community service, and/or an alcohol program
(mandated by courts). We will also head the problem off before they send
notice to the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles. Be aware that
some police departments have policies that mandate that the officer transmit
the information to the Registry when
they arrest you.
If you have already been notified that your license is to be suspended,
contact an attorney to appeal the ruling as
you may be eligible to get a "Cinderella License" that will allow you to drive for twelve hours a day.
Contact us at (617) 300-0212, so we can assist you in trying and preventing
a criminal record and the subsequent loss of license. We can also help
you at the Registry Hearing, where the Board will decide whether you meet
the requirements for a twelve-hour license or not. You are not entitled
to a twelve-hour license, which is where an
experienced attorney can help make sure you get one granted to you. For more information,
request a complimentary and confidential consultation.
Get The Help You Need - Call For a Free Consultation
Having the fake ID was your first mistake, and using it was your second.
Not hiring an experienced attorney will be your third.
Let us help you today!