At the law firm of Sweeney & Associates, LLC in Quincy, Massachusetts, we have extensive experience with sex crimes cases and sex offender registration hearings. We understand the problems associated with sex offender registration, and we provide our clients with clear answers to important questions about their cases. Below are frequently asked questions about sex offender registration.
Contact us today to start discussing your case.
Megan's Law is the term commonly used to describe state laws requiring convicted sex offenders, or people who are tagged as sexually deviant based upon prior convictions, to register themselves with a statewide board as sexually deviant.
Sexually violent offenders, those who have offended against a child, and those with two or more Wetterling convictions must register for life. All other sexual offenders must register for 20 years; however, they may petition the Sex Offender Registry Board for relief after 10 years following their last conviction, release from custody or discharge from community supervision.
Active community notification is conducted by the police departments where the offender resides, works and where the offense(s) took place on all offenders finally classified a Level 3. The police shall provide information about Level 3 offenders to all schools, day cares and places where the public is likely to encounter the offender. Additionally, the police shall cause such information to be transmitted through a media outlet such as television, newsprint, etc.
Information about offenders finally classified at Level 2 may be released by the police departments upon written inquiry from any individual 18 years of age or older, who certifies they are requesting the information for their own personal safety or the safety of their family. Individuals may also contact the Sex Offender Registry Board for information related to Level 2 or Level 3 offenders. This request must be made in writing on a form bearing the signature of the requester attesting to the fact that he or she is 18 years of age or older and the information is requested for his or her own personal safety or the safety of his or her family.
Information about those offenders who have finally been classified at Level 1 and those offenders pending classification shall not be released to the public, but may be shared between law enforcement agencies.
Under the law any sex offender who knowingly fails to register or re-register, or who knowingly provides materially false information to the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minor Registry, shall be guilty of a felony.
A first conviction shall be punished by imprisonment for not less than six months and not more than two and one-half years in a house of correction, nor more than five years in a state prison or by fine of not more than $1,000, or by both such fine and imprisonment.
A second and subsequent conviction shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for not less than five years.
If you feel that the registry has placed you in the wrong level of offender, or if you feel that you do not belong on the registry, and you have a compelling reason why you believe so, you should contact an Massachusetts criminal defense attorney and begin the appeal process. People have had success in appeals, especially where the crime was committed a number of years ago and there has been no crime committed since, and in cases where the crime that was allegedly committed was pled to prior to the creation of the sex offender registry. We have represented a number of people in appeals before the sex offender registry board, and have had some success.
In a sex crimes case, it is essential to be informed and stay informed. It is even more critical to arm yourself with strong defense representation. Every case is different. Our Quincy criminal attorneys can help you aggressively fight the charges you face and mitigate the negative impact on your life and your family.
Contact our firm today for a free, confidential case evaluation.